Pillows and Puppies

There’s a song from A Chorus Line – “I Can Do That”.  It keeps popping up in my head every time I see a crafty item I like.  It’s more a question for me first, then a statement.   While exploring a local retailer I saw some pillows with dogs, rabbits, pheasants and miscellaneous other animals done in an applique/machine quilting style.  I loved them.  They were more than $200.00 each and overall dark in color.  I looked at them, walked away, came back to them, studied them carefully, then took photos.  I Can Do That.

My mother, my Aunt and my maternal Grandmother all sewed.  It’s a strong tradition, skill, art, in our family.  I took Home Ec classes in high school and I learned from the masters (my family).  I always had custom made and custom designed clothing that was gorgeous.  I lust after a couple of college age party outfits my mother made.  One was a soft grey crushed velvet palazzo pants and jacket with a silk low cut white blouse to go with it.  Circa 1970 – and it would be perfect for today’s styles.  Another was a sheer peasant blouse in cream color and pale pink palazzo jumpsuit with  suspenders and glittering embroidery at the hem.  Oh well – those were the days.

I tried my hand at making clothing early on and quickly abandoned it after I realized the special skills needed.  Moving on to more practical projects, I made curtains for our first house – over and over again.  Re-decorating, re-decorating, re-decorating.  Just can’t stop that creative flow.  Then I moved on to pillows for the couch and chairs. and beds.

Fast forward to 2016 and the puppies.  Here’s my own artistic version of what I found in the store -which were shared with family for Christmas.  And of course, Bill and I had first choice of two to keep at home!


One thought on “Pillows and Puppies

  1. These puppy collages are great! My mom used to do applique work, but I’ve never tried it. Now how about you putting those sewing skills to good use at church. Sewing Group meets the first Tuesday of every month — and if I can do it, anyone can!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment